
D I V I S I O N  O F  H U M A N  R E S O U R C E S  

 

Window Rock/Fort Defiance: 

Post Office Box 1943 

Window Rock, Arizona 86515 

Telephone: (928) 871-6800 

Facsimile: (928) 871-7088 

 

Chinle ONLR: 

Post Office Box 2660 

Chinle, Arizona 86503 

Telephone: (928) 674-2214 

Facsimile: (928) 674-2216 

 

Kayenta ONLR: 

Post Office Box 550 

Kayenta, Arizona 86033 

Telephone: (928) 697-5645 

Facsimile: (928) 697-5647 

 

Shiprock ONLR: 

Post Office Box 1704 

Shiprock, New Mexico 87420 

Telephone: (505) 368-1142 

Facsimile: (505) 368-1145 

 

Tuba City ONLR: 

Post Office Box 733 

Tuba City, Arizona 86045 

Telephone: (928) 283-3100 

Facsimile: (928) 283-3107 

 

6. Time limitation 
A Charge shall be filed within one year after 
accrual of the claim which constitutes the 
alleged violation of the Act. 
 

 If ONLR certifies it will be unable to make 
a determination or conciliation attempt 
failure occurs within the 180 day limitation, 
a Notice of Right to Sue will be issued to 
the Charging Party.  This Notice authorizes 
the Charging Party to initiate a proceeding 
before the Labor Commission.  However, 
after the expiration of 180 days following 
the date an Individual Charge was filed, the 
individual Charging Party shall have the 
right to initiate a proceeding before the 
commission irrespective of whether ONLR 
has issued a Notice of Right to Sue, made a 
probable cause determination, or 
commenced or concluded conciliation 
efforts. 

 ONLR will not deny any employee the right 
to file an Individual Charge or request for 
assistance. 

 The Labor Compliance Officer handling  
the Individual Charge or initiated the 
ONLR Charge can provide more detailed 
information on additional procedures of 
NPEA.  Please contact the ONLR office 
nearest to you. 

 

 

 

OFFICE OF 
NAVAJO LABOR 

RELATIONS 

Physical Address: 
W008-222 Doublewide 
Trailer on Morgan Blvd. 
Window Rock, Arizona 
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NAVAJO LABOR 

RELATIONS 

 
F IL ING A CHARGE  

 

 PROCEDURES & 
TIMELINES  

Telephone: (928) 871-6800/  
  6801 
Facsimile: (928) 871-7088 

 

Post Office Box 1943 
Window Rock, Arizona 

86515 



If you believe your rights have been violated 
under the Navajo Preference in Employment 
Act (“NPEA”). 
 

The NPEA applies to the following: 
 

1.  Discharge 
2. Suspension 
3. Promotion 
4. Upgrading 
5. Transfer 
6. Lay-off 
7. Hiring 
8. Recall 

  
A Charge may be filed in reference to any of 
foregoing grievances listed or a combination 
against an employer alleged to be in violation 
of the NPEA. 
 

Any employee may file in person, by mail or by 
contacting the nearest Office of Navajo Labor 
Relations (“ONLR”).  If there is not an ONLR 
office in the immediate area, call (928) 871-
6800 for more information at the ONLR ad-
ministration in Window Rock, Arizona. 
 

To avoid delay, call or write beforehand if you 
need special assistance, such as a Navajo inter-
preter which may be a Labor Compliance Of-
ficer available to assist with filing procedures. 
 

Be aware there are strict time frames in which 
Employment Charges under the NPEA must 
be filed.  To preserve the ability of ONLR to 
act in handling your case and to preserve your 
right to file an Employment Charge to litigate a 
claim, you need to adhere to the following 
guidelines as prescribed under Section 10. (B). 
Charges when filing a charge. 

There are two (2) charge processes under the NPEA.  
The Individual Charge and an ONLR Charge, both 
are collectively referred to as a “Charge.” 
 

1. Individual Charge 
Charging party.  Any employee may file a charge 
claiming a violation of his/her rights under the 
Act. 
 

 2. ONLR Charge 
ONLR, on it own initiative may file a charge 
claiming a violation of rights under the Act held 
by identified employees or a class of employees, 
including a claim that respondent (employer) is 
engaging in a pattern of conduct or practice in 
violation of rights guaranteed by the Act. 
 

3. Form and Content 
Individual Charge shall be in writing, signed by 
the charging party, and by a Labor Compliance 
Officer accepting the Individual Charge. 
 

 ONLR Charge 
Shall be written by a Labor Compliance Officer 
and be signed by the Director of ONLR to ac-
cept the charge. 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
The Employment Charge must contain the follow-
ing information: 
 

a. The name, address and any telephone number 
of the charging party; 

b. The name and address or business location of 
the respondent (employer) against whom the 
charge is made;  

c. A clear and concise statement of the facts consti-
tuting the alleged violation of the Act, including 
the dates of each violation and other pertinent 
events and the names of individuals who com-
mitted, participated in or witnessed the acts com-
plained of; 

d. With respect to an ONLR Charge alleging a 
pattern or practice in violation of the Act, 
the period of time during which such pat-
tern or practice has existed and whether it 
continues on the date of the Charge;  

e. The specific harm sustained by the charging 
party in the case of an Individual Charge or 
the specific harm sustained by specified 
employees or a class of employees with re-
spect to an ONLR Charge; and  

f. A statement disclosing whether proceedings 
involving the alleged violation have been 
initiated before any court or administrative 
agency or within any grievance process 
maintained by the respondent, including 
the date of commencement, the court, agen-
cy or process and the status of the pro-
cessing. (Provide reliable documents show-
ing a grievance was exhausted with an em-
ployer whether through a Hearing Officer, 
Grievance Committee and/or any media-
tor.)  

4. Place of Filing 
Individual Charge may be filed in any office 
of ONLR.  An ONLR Charge shall be filed 
in ONLR’s administrative office in Window 
Rock. 
 

5. Date of Filing 
Receipt of each Individual Charge shall be 
acknowledged by the dated signature of an 
ONLR employee (Labor Compliance Offic-
ers) which shall be deemed the date on which 
the Individual Charge is filed.  The date on 
the ONLR Charge is signed by the ONLR 
Director shall be deemed the date of filing 
for such Charge.  
 

 
 

 

FILING A CHARGE  

PROCEDURES &TIMELINES 


